God Took his Rainbow Dr. Maya Angelou to the Clouds.

xmaya-angelou.jpg.pagespeed.ic.sMJluTmRg-

En route taking my class on a field trip just this past Wednesday, I received some very heart breaking news. Trying to keep my emotions together in front of my students, I could hardly believe what I had just heard. Marguerite Annie Johnson; known to the world as Maya Angelou had passed away at the age of 86.

Turning my head discreetly to wipe the tears from my eyes during the bus ride, I instantly smiled due to one of my personal historical moments in time. In August of 2013, Dr. Angelou served as a motivational speaker for the teachers employed with the Detroit Public School District. Applauding upon her arrival, she singed to us the song titled, “God put a Rainbow in the Clouds.” Her speech indeed encouraged us to start the school year off on the right track.

Any teacher this day feeling like a “nobody” definitely felt proud about their profession after her speech. Educators feeling weary, overworked, or defeated after hearing her talk to us left the Detroit Renaissance Center feeling optimistic and full of hope. Just the sound of her voice had the power to calm any storm. The meaning and message behind her powerful words could definitely make the sun come out and shine once again.

This day in August was indeed for me and many others a life changing moment. Although she is no longer with us, her accomplishments, poetry, amazing deeds, and guiding light will remain with us forever. On the twenty-eighth day of May this year of 2014, God took his rainbow to the clouds and she will be so greatly missed on this planet.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

