The importance of reading to kids and making it fun!

image

August is one of my favorite times of the year in Detroit.  Each year General Motors sponsors a spectacular event called the Reading on the Riverfront Series. Local authors from the area get a opportunity to read their childhood favorites to the kids in attendance. Having had the opportunity to participate in this event for three consecutive years in a row, I always read my all time favorite Green Eggs and Ham.  I love getting the kids excited and involved. It’s fun to have the kids echoing back, “I do not eat green eggs and ham.   I do not like them Sam-I-Am.”  Allowing kids to echo back parts of a story makes it both fun and, at the same time exercises long-term memory skills. Parents I recommend you try doing it sometimes. It’s fun and a learning activity all in one.

Leave a Reply

