Mr Hillie…One Awesome Art Teacher Serving Detroit Public Schools!

Image Greetings and Happy Hump Day to you  all!  To  all my fellow educators residing in Michigan, If you’re anything like me, you’re ecstatic that  the 2012 MEAP testing window is just about over with!   Every afternoon, I teach a very energetic group of male sixth graders.  On Wednesdays, they attend Art.  Picking them up today, I notice pure creativity at it’s best.  My students were making the most beautiful creations out of old newspapers, glue, and water.  Out of everything I observed, nothing amazed me more than the paper mask my boys created under the direction of “The Great Mr Hillie.”  Seeing creations such as the two above in the picture is just one of the many reasons why schools should retain “The Arts” in every school and every district.  Whether it’s dance, drama, art, or band, our kids need these classes just as much as they need reading, math, and science. Kudos to you Mr Hillie.   You are one astounding Art Teacher and I am honored to say that I know you.

Leave a Reply

