The 2012 Socialization Skills Program is off to one great start at the Detroit Impact Center

Image

Hello everyone.  Yesterday was the official kickoff for my 2012 Socialization Skills program at the Detroit Impact Center.  I must admit that walking into a crowd of youngsters ranging from the ages of 14-19 gave me the butterflies just a little bit.  Normally, I service 10 youngsters per hour.  Yesterday, I serviced all 22 pupils within a two-hour time frame.

The first thing we addressed was fear and how it often keeps us all from reaching our fullest potential.  I started it off by letting the group know how servicing everyone at the same time resulted to me allowing  fear to set in  however, I refuse to let it get in the way of me providing the weekly social dynamic.  After providing my demonstration, all  22 students had an opportunity to share what their  personal biggest fear in life was. Within one hour of the session a major break through took place.

Directly afterwards, we discussed our first social dynamic for the week.  The “Big A”  also known as abandonment impacts many youngsters today in so many ways. After defining what it meant, I started off the session by asking everyone had they ever experienced it before.  Two pupils raised their hands to indicate yes. I read several monologues pertaining to abandonment from my first book, The Everyday Living of Children and Teens Monologues.  Together as a group we did some dialogue on those monologues.  It was one amazing session.  The question was  posed again at the end of the session.  This time at least 18 youngsters put their hands up.

What makes this 2012 group different from any other group I’ve had is that they have courage.  From what I see so far, facing the truth will not be a  difficult task for them at all.

9 Responses to “The 2012 Socialization Skills Program is off to one great start at the Detroit Impact Center”

  1. T Elice Bsidedj Says:

    EXCELLENT SIS! I know it will be easy for them to be BRAVE in your presence…because if you could get me to step out on faith, believe in myself and let it all go creatively…then you can truly work miracles. You did it for me in 09, so our youth are in the most CAPABLE of HANDS with Adra Young!!!!! So proud of you as ALWAYS!

  2. Adra Young Says:

    Thanks for liking this Sylvia.

  3. extraordinaryireland Says:

    Adra, This is a wonderful program. I sure wish there had been a program when I was growing up for abuse. With your help healing hearts will happen for many lives. You should be very proud.

    Thank you for sharing.
    Rosemary “Mamie” Adkins

  4. linneann Says:

    Yes, a wonderful program. Our youth need to know that they and their feelings matter. Kudos!

    • Adra Young/Ardannyl Says:

      Thanks Linneann. I agree they do need to know that they matter. How are you by the way?

      • linneann Says:

        Lots going on in my life. I thank God for my children. I truly admire those of you who are dedicated to what should be our most prized “possessions,” our children, our youth, even though we don’t really possess them. 🙂

  5. Adra Young/Ardannyl Says:

    Thanks you for your positive words Linneann. Comments such as the one you just made give me the inspiration to keep doing what I’m doing.

Leave a Reply

