The Importance of Reading to Tweens.

Greetings, everyone.  It’s your favorite tweens and teens author wishing everyone a great weekend.  Who say’s that story time is just for kids under 10?  Just this past Friday I made a discovery.  Kids over the age of 10 still love story time.  

Our school principal invited all the fifth and sixth grade students to hear him read a modern-day version of  Little Red Riding Hood.  He was very animated and the students ranging from ages  11 through 12 absolutely ate it up.  By the time he was done, the fifth and sixth graders wanted him to read another book aloud.  Parents, just give it a try.  Read a story to your 11 and 12 year old youngsters.  I’m willing to bet they will enjoy it.

2 Responses to “The Importance of Reading to Tweens.”

  1. Kimbrough Says:

    Adra, It was my pleasure to meet you again last Friday at the Marriot. I am so excited about your work and the incredible contributions that you are making to the well being and advancement of the students. I did make a contact with our mutual friend/supervisor LC and she was very excited to learn of your accomplishments. I would love to invite you to learn more about VSA-Michigan, an arts organization dedicated to serving students with disabilities. I serve on the State board and we would like to invite you to collaborate with us.

    • Adra Young/Ardannyl Says:

      Dr Kimbrough. I would be honored. Please let me know the necessary steps I would need to take in order to collaborate with VSA Michigan. Currently, I am working on my third book titled The Misfits. It is a fictional read based upon tweens and bullying. Thank you so much for reaching out.

      Best Regards
      Adra Young
      http://www.ardannyl.me

Leave a Reply

