What My School District Is Doing To Resolve The Bullying Issue

Hello everyone.  It’s your favorite  middle school teacher and young adult author Adra Young.    Did everyone get a chance to see the President and the First Lady speak last  Thursday?  More importantly, do you know what their topic of discussion was about?   If you guessed  bullying and how it has drastically impacted the schools all over this country, you’re absolutely correct.

As I watched the first couple addressed  this issue to our entire Nation, I thought to myself  what are some of the things various states and school districts are doing to remedy the situation?  The district that I work for, the  Detroit Public School system is currently holding a Anti Bully Design Contest. They are requesting that the youth get involved  by creating a poster, slogan, or an official DPS Anti-Bully mascot. 

Discussing the contest with my all  male class today, I asked them how they felt about our school district taking a  initiative to end bullying.   The majority of class was very happy about this step. One student stated that initatives such as this one will reduce the shame levels of kids that are being bullied.  Another  student mentioned that contest such as this one could help reduce the numbers of children that commit suicide due to bullying.  As a teacher for the Detroit Public School system, I can honestly state that this initative could be the beggining of many more to come as we tackle this issue to defeat bullying for good.

Adra Young

Author of:  The Everyday Living of Children & Teens Monologue Series

Get ready for my third book the Misfits coming this Fall of 2011

4 Responses to “What My School District Is Doing To Resolve The Bullying Issue”

  1. Drucy Says:

    fantastic points altogether, you simply gained a new reader. What could you recommend about your put up that you simply made some days ago? Any certain?

  2. 30 second toothbrush Says:

    A powerful share, I just given this onto a colleague who was doing a little analysis on this. And he actually bought me breakfast as a result of I found it for him.. smile. So let me reword that: Thnx for the treat! But yeah Thnkx for spending the time to discuss this, I feel strongly about it and love reading more on this topic. If doable, as you change into expertise, would you mind updating your weblog with more details? It’s highly useful for me. Huge thumb up for this blog submit!…bookmarked yours : What My School District Is Doing To Resolve The Bullying Issue Adraly's Blog

    • Adra Young/Ardannyl Says:

      I thank you for responding to my blog. Glad it was able to assist you. I do have other postings listed regarding the bullying issue. I will keep you posted on in-house bullying issues and concerns as well. Tomorrow, my students for the 2011-12 school year enter my classroom. I am looking forward to it. My third book, The Misfits, is scheduled to be released the later part of this month. My first fictional read, The Misfits is based upon the struggles tweens face with bullying.
      If you are interested, check out my series, The Everyday Living of Children & Teens Monologues series for just $1.00 per piece on smashwords. Again, thanks for responding.

      Adra Young
      Author of: The Everyday Living of Children & Teens Monologues Series
      http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/54901
      http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/42032

Leave a Reply

